Theme Songs

I realized I have a tendency to associate songs with people in my life. Whether it’s via a cell phone ring that is distinctly them (my brother probably hates the fact that Gnarls Barkley’s “Crazy” is his ringtone on my phone, but my kids always know when it’s their Uncle Lance calling), a song that just brings that person or my friendship/relationship with them pleasantly to mind, or a tune that serves more as warning to me of what to avoid in the future … almost everyone I have had any lengthy association with has a theme song. Was wondering if anyone else does the same thing?

Today’s examples: One of the ex-boyfriends, Mr. Pussy, used to have a couple of songs I associated with him because they were romantic tunes I wanted to play when spending time with him. Alas, such is no longer the case. He has been relegated to Jonny Lang’s “Lie to Me” on my cell phone. He doesn’t call me anymore (thankfully) but if he ever should, I am immediately reminded of why I shouldn’t pick up the phone. Bitter? Damn right I am. Nobody dumps me 6 times and gets away with still being able to call me “friend”. Even a friend would never be that self-centered and cruel.

Another ex’s ringtone used to be a Steely Dan tune because that’s one of his favorite bands. He has been subsequently downgraded to another Jonny Lang tune, “Give Me Up Again”. I should introduce myself to Jonny, he must live my life or something. Alas, it suits him better now. Despite my being the girlfriend that he often told me was one of the most attentive and low maintenance women he’d ever known as well as the best lovemaking he’d ever had, this one was perpetually looking for the greener grass on the other side of the proverbial fence. Hopefully for his sake he will someday find it, but I suspect it lies within himself.

A few ex’s are still in my phone. One has a Cheap Trick song for his ringtone – not a song that describes him per se, but a band he once said he liked and it was about the only one I could find a ringtone for out of his rather esoteric favorites. Another has an INXS ringtone because that worked for him – and I broke up with him, so I have no cause to change his ringtone to anything that would imply bitterness.

My ex-husband has an old Creedence tone for his ring. “Bad Moon Rising”. Now before you jump to conclusions, although it is appropriate for the many months after we were divorced when speaking to him was similar to a waterboarding exercise, it was also a song we actually played at our wedding as a joke after the first dance, the song that he thought typified me when he first met me. Not sure if that is actually true but it made for a good laugh at the wedding reception, at any rate. 🙂

My boyfriend currently has the theme to Hawaii-Five-0 for his ringtone. He was a Moody Blues tune awhile back, as he mentioned they were one of his favorite bands, but there aren’t a lot of Moody Blues ringtones available on my AT&T users website, certainly not “Nights in White Satin”, which would have been my first choice. He could still change to something really schmaltzy. Being something schmaltzy on my phone is generally a good thing in my book.

Then there are songs that, regardless of ringtones, I will always associate with a person, just because a particular song makes me think of them. One of my unfulfilled male objects of lust from a previous job is forever associated with the U2 song, “In A Little While”. I think I was with him driving to a business meeting and that came on the radio, and he mentioned how much he liked it. That was years ago and still, whenever I hear that song, I think of him, my company’s IT tech who looked awesome in a pair of black jeans and had the best swagger this side of West Side Story, not to mention a Bronx accent that was both annoying and charming at the same time.

Lastly, there is my dearest friend, girlfriend, BFF, etc., Sue, who gets an old Tim Finn song (Persuasion) associated with her. Admittedly, the lyrics are (I would assume) a man singing to a woman, but in many aspects, especially with those concerning the trials and tribulations of a long-lasting friendship, the lyrics are universal. Particularly this part:

“After all the foolish things that we’ve been through
I can always make a start on something new”

Sue has seen me at my best, my worst, and everything in between. And I think she knows that in general, I can always be persuaded to try any new joint adventure with her. Namely because whether it is a success or a failure, we will have fun doing it. And that’s what matters in the end.

About rachelroust

Looking to live a life less ordinary. Join me on the journey if you wish.
This entry was posted in I Make Release - Is Nice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

